How To Delete Ryde Account

YOUR EXISTING AD GOES HERE

When you sign up for Ryde, a rideshare service that connects riders with drivers through their smartphones, you’re asked to create an account. You can sign up using your email address or your phone number. This is helpful if you plan on using the app again someday because it makes signing back up much easier. But what if you change your mind about using the app? Is it possible to delete your account and forget about the whole thing?

Although keeping your personal information private is important, it might be worth taking this precaution in case you decide that Ryde isn’t right for you. In this article, we will talk about how to delete a Ryde account and why you should do it sooner than later to protect your privacy.

YOUR EXISTING AD GOES HERE

Why You Should Delete Your Ryde Account

The only way to be 100% certain that your account has been deleted is to take action as soon as you decide to leave the platform. This is because you may have unwittingly given Ryde permission to store your personal data. When you create an account, you agree to Ryde’s terms of service. This means that you have given the company your consent to store your personal information, including your phone number, email address, and payment information, even if you decide to close the account. You don’t even have to use the app again to have your data saved.

If you have ever given permission to allow someone to drive you home, that person has your information and has created a metadata profile around you. If you have ever driven someone, your metadata profile is growing as well.

YOUR EXISTING AD GOES HERE

How to Delete Your Ryde Account

To delete your account, go to your account settings. You can do this by clicking on your name in the lower-right corner of the home screen. From there, go to “Account settings,” and scroll down to “Delete account.” You will be asked to confirm your decision. When you select “Delete,” you will be taken to a screen that says “Please wait while we delete your account.” Once your account has been deleted, your information, including your name and payment information, will be removed from Ryde’s servers and staff. You will have to sign up again if you want to use the app again in the future.

What to know before you delete your account

While this may sound dramatic, deleting your account will not remove any of your trip history. This information is public and is not deleted once your account is gone. Your ratings, photos, and ride history will remain online. Anyone who has ever taken a ride with you, or who has ever been driven by you, can see this information. This includes drivers who are logged in to the app, even though they may not be actively driving.

Deleting your account will not remove any information that you have shared with other users via the app. You can delete messages, photos, and trips from your profile page, but these will still exist in the public. Be careful what information you share on the app, especially with random passengers. There is a section in the terms of service that states that Ryde can use your information for marketing purposes. They may post your information on their website or on social media. Also, be weary of what information you share with other drivers.

YOUR EXISTING AD GOES HERE

How to permanently delete your Ryde account

You can permanently delete your account by contacting customer service and asking them to delete it. This means that they will have to manually go in and delete the account instead of using the “delete account” option on your account settings page. This may take up to a week, and there is no guarantee that your account will be permanently deleted.

If you want to delete your account permanently and ensure that your information is gone, you can submit a request online through the Data Protection Authority (DPA). You will have to pay a fee of $40. This is the only 100% surefire way to make sure that your information is permanently deleted.

Bottom line

When you create an account with any company, you are giving them permission to store your data. While deleting your account may be inconvenient, it is the best way to protect your privacy. Be careful what information you share on the app and with whom you share it. If you want to make absolutely sure that your information is gone for good, you can request that the company delete all of your data for a fee.

Leave a Comment